Wednesday, October 01, 2014


Saliba re-elected Shellharbour Mayor


Shellharbour Councillor Marianne Saliba will remain the Mayor of Shellharbour for another year after Labor Councillor John Murray abandoned his holiday in the South Pacific to ensure his colleague was re-elected overnight.


His expected absence had raised the possibility that the vote would be decided by a draw from a hat due to a three-all vote.


However, Mr Murrray's last minute dash from Fiji saw Councillor Saliba elected four votes to three over independent councillor Peter Moran.


Ex-Liberal councillor Paul Rankin was re-elected Shellharbour's Deputy Mayor.


Ms Saliba says she feels honoured to be re-elected for a third year and believes the City Hub and Shell Cove will be some of the biggest issues on her agenda.


Meantime, Shellharbour MP Anna Watson has joined calls for changes to the voting process. Currently the councillors vote amongst themselves for the next mayor of the city.


However Ms Watson agrees with Ms Saliba that Shellharbour residents should be entitled to vote for their own Mayor.